

THE MILEPOST VOLUME 40 NUMBER 3



MDTSEA OFFICERS & DIRECTORS

President & Mile Post Editor Tony Gullikson 453 W Parkview Ave Warren, MN 56762 218 745 4319 Secretary / Treasurer Fred Schreiber 1932 E Nevada Ave St. Paul, MN 55119 **Past President** Carol E. Olson Duluth, MN **President-Elect** Bea Kehr. Duluth, MN University Rep. Brad Isberner St. Cloud, MN ADTSEA Rep. John Palmer St. Cloud, MN **Conference &** Workshops Joe Christensen Avon, MN 56310 **DPS** Liaison Duane Mettler Madison Lake, MN 56063

Presidents Letter

Dear MDTSEA members,

Well, time does fly. This will by my last President letter. I must say that being President of the Minnesota Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association has been a rewarding experience. I have made lifetime friendships, I have grown professionally, and I feel that I have contributed to making our roads more safe. Bea Kehr will be the next President. I assure you that she is ready for the challenges and will be an excellent leader for the organization.

This issue is dedicated to our spring conference. I am excited for it as I believe that the conference will be educational and entertaining. Please make all efforts to attend and encourage other instructors as well.

I read somewhere that in Minnesota teens account for 6 percent of all drivers and 12 percent of all crashes. Reader's Digest online has a very interesting and informative article on teen driving. One quote stands out, "These deaths should not be considered an inevitable part of the teen experience." The article can be found at http://www.rd.com/family/dangerous-teen-drivers/.

As always, the MilePost is looking for articles, stories, and/or teaching lessons. I am also welcome to suggestions on how to make this newsletter better. Please feel free to contact me at tgulliks@wao.k12.mn.us with any concerns or ideas.

Respectfully submitted, Tony Gullikson

MDTSEA DISTRIC T DIRECTORS

1- Bob Nahlovsky Blooming Prairie, MN 2- Sam Wolfe Shakopee, MN 3- Mike Myers Bloomington, MN 4- John Ertz River Falls ,WI 5 Co-Shirly Suneson Woodbury, MN 5-Co Curt Quiner Chanhassen, MN 6- Marty Rossini Stillwater, MN 7- Mark Lee Plummer, MN 8- Mike Ortmann Wadena MN At-large Directors Larry Fosness Kiester, MN Doug Riles Hastings MN Pat Hatlevig Caledonia, MN Pat Irsfeld Marshall, MN

| Conference Schedule | |
|---|---|
| Conference registration | |
| MDTSEA Board Meeting Minutes | 4 |
| Summery of Winter Workshops | |
| TSE Student Paper: Classroom vs Online Driver Education | |
| St. Cloud St. Driver Preperation | |

MDTEA ELECTIONS 2011 TO 2013

Please contact Sam Wolf via email: <u>samwolfe2010@live.com</u> or call: 952-445-6103 with your nominations.

Below are the positions that will be voted on.

| Position | Term | Current holding |
|---------------------|------------------------------------|--|
| President Elect | 2011-2013 2013-2015 (president) | Bea Kehr |
| Secretary/Treasure | 2011-2013 | Fred Schrieber |
| 4 District At-Large | 2011-2013 | Doug Riles Pat Irsfeld Pat Hatlevig Larry Fosness |

